Scott Carnahan
1 min readApr 1, 2024

--

Los Angeles, California | Mamiya C220 | Revolog Kosmos film

A coyote howled into the cold night -
I stared off into the long ribbons of light,
pushing back the fear, the guttural fright.

What is worse? Trapped on concrete
or being torn into bits of meat?
I’ll take the mud on my feet,
sick of saving my receipt.

Traffic jams
and Email scams;
lost in a trance,
worried about finance -
what is the point of the city’s dance?

On a hill in the dark,
the king of Elysian Park,
trying not to feel so stark -
a new life, it’s time to embark.

I didn’t come here to be a diehard -
It was supposed to be a postcard,
a few memories on Sunset Boulevard;
But now I fear a city graveyard,
my steel horse in a metal boneyard.

It’s simple: throw out the scorecard -
remain the vanguard.
Smog, credit, jury duty; disregard.

The only way to start
is to follow your heart -
you’ll know when it’s time to depart.

January 27, 2023

--

--

Scott Carnahan

Cameras by trade, writer by plight. A story obsessed thunderstorm junkie armed with a journal - fueled with music. | Los Angeles, CA ⛈🏜🏔✨ scottjcarnahan.com